Pin It



First Chief Election Commissioner 

Sukumar Sen

First Chief Justice of India

H. J. Kania (1947–1951)

First Chief Minister to die in Office

C.N.Annadurai, Tamil Nadu

First Deputy Prime Minister

Vallabhbhai Patel (1947–1950)

First Finance Minister of Independent India

R.K. Shanmukhan Chetty (1947–1949)

First Governor-General of Independent India

Lord Mountbatten, 1947

First Governor-General of India

Warren Hastings, 1773

First Home Minister of India

Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel

First Indian Governor-General of Indian Union

C Rajagopalachari, 1948

First Indian ICS Officer

Satyendranath Tagore, 1863

First Indian President to die in Office

Zakir Hussain, 3 May 1969

First Indian Prime Minister to resign from office

Morarji Desai, 1979

First Industries and Supplies Minister

Shyama Prasad Mukherjee

First Law Minister of India

B. R. Ambedkar

First Leader of Opposition

A. K. Gopalan

First Muslim President

Zakir Hussain (1967–1969)

First Non-Congress government

Janata Party, with Morarji Desai as the Prime Minister (1977–1980)

First Non-Congress State government with Majority by a single party

E. M. S. Namboodiripad of CPI, Kerala 1957

First Person outside the Nehru-Gandhi family to serve as Prime Minister for a full term (five years)

P. V. Narasimha Rao, 21 June 1991 – 16 May 1996

First person to resign from the Central Cabinet

Shyama Prasad Mukherjee

First Presentation of First Budget after India's Independence

R. K. Shanmukhan Chetty on 26 November 1947

First President

Rajendra Prasad (1950–1962)

First President of the Indian National Congress

Wyomesh Chandra Bannerjee, 1885

First President of the Indian National Congress of independent India

Acharya Kripalani, till November 1947

First Prime Minister

Jawaharlal Nehru.

First Prime Minister from South India

P. V. Narasimha Rao, 1991,

First Prime Minister to be born after India's independence

Narendra Modi , 17 September 1950(birth)

First Prime Minister to be voted out of office

Indira Gandhi (1977), when the Indian National Congress lost to the Janata Party

First Prime Minister to lead a minority government for a full term (five years)

P. V. Narasimha Rao, 21 June 1991 – 16 May 1996

First Sikh President

Giani Zail Singh

First Sikh Prime Minister

Manmohan Singh (2004–2014)

First Speaker of Lok Sabha

G.V. Mavlankar (1952–1956)

First Vice-President

Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan

First Viceroy of India

Lord Canning, 1858

First woman Cabinet Minister in India

Rajkumari Amrit Kaur

First woman Chief Minister

 Sucheta Kriplani

First woman Finance Minister of State Government in India

Dr. Upinderjit Kaur, in Punjab Govt.

First woman Governor of a State

Sarojini Naidu (Governor of Uttar Pradesh, 1947–49)

First woman Home Minister

Sabitha Indra Reddy in Andhra Pradesh Govt.

First woman Minister in India

Vijaya Lakshmi Pandit

First Woman President

Pratibha Patil (2007–2012)

First woman Speaker of the Lok Sabha

Meira Kumar

First Women Railway Minister of India

Mamata Banerjee



How to use Mind maps?

  1. Use Mind maps to read the topics faster with a complete topic coverage.
  2. Try to write sentences or paragraphs using Mind maps. This will help you to write better in your Mains examination. It also aids in engraving the topic better in your mind.
  3. Use them as flash cards to revise topics.
  4. Download the images into your devices to study in your leisure times or while travelling.
  5. Use Mind maps to read and revise faster during last minute preparations.

Connect with facebook page to get regular updates on new mind maps:  https://www.facebook.com/mindmapcharts/

For any other queries kindly mail to:  mindmapcharts@gmail.com