Download Joomla Templates Responsive


Firsts in defence



Chief of Air Staff

Air Marshal Sir Thomas Elmhurst

Chief of Naval Staff

Vice Admiral R D Katari

Commander-in-Chief of Free India

General Sir Roy Bucher

Commander-in-Chief, IAF

Air Marshal Subroto Mukherjee, 1954


Sqn. Ldr. Rakesh Sharma, 1984

Defence Minister of India

Baldev Singh

Field Marshal

Sam Manekshaw, 1973

First female jawan in the Army

Sapper Shanti Tigga

First Indian (pre Independence) flying ace 

Indra Lal Roy

First Param Vir Chakra Winner

Major Som Nath Sharma

Indian Chief of Staff

General Kodandera Madappa Cariappa, 1947

Indian Commander-in-Chief of Free India

General Kodandera Madappa Cariappa, 1949

India's first military helicopter pilot

Air Commodore Sudhindra Kumar Majumdar

President of Indian Republic

Dr. Rajendra Prasad